2018 Election Results–Iwp Candidates

Twenty-three members of the Institute for Women in Politics ran in this year’s elections. Fourteen of our member-candidates were women and nine were men. Eleven were elected (48%).

Running for office takes courage and stamina. We are deeply grateful to these women and men for all they gave of themselves and their resources to participate in the electoral process. We encourage those who did not succeed this time to remain engaged in their communities, their government, and in IWP.

To our newly elected (or re-elected) members, we offer warm congratulations and a reflection:  A political campaign gives rise to high expectations of the winning candidate. You will soon be a public servant. May you serve with humility, selfless dedication, and excellence. This Institute is ever at your service to assist you in so doing!

U.S. House of Representatives, District 1
Dr. Jennifer Zimmerman (D)
Florida House, District 1
Vikki Garrett (D)
Florida House, District 80
Jennifer Boddicker (D)


In alphabetical order:

Alex Andrade
Florida House District 2

Robert Bender
Escambia County Commission District 4

Lois Benson
ECUA District 2

Lacy Powell Clark
Circuit Judge, First Judicial Circuit

Dr. Laura Dortch-Edler
Escambia County School Board District 3

Ann Hill
Pensacola City Council District 6

Jared Moore
Pensacola City Council District 4

Sherri Myers
Pensacola City Council District 2

Grover Robinson
Mayor, City of Pensacola

Linda Sanborn
Santa Rosa County School Board District 1

Wei Ueberschaer
Santa Rosa County School Board District 3


Dr. Laura Dortch-Edler
School Board, District 3

Grover Robinson
Mayor, City of Pensacola

Brian Spencer

Jared Moore
Pensacola City Council, District 4

Ann Hill
Pensacola City Council, District 6

Lois Benson
ECUA, District 2

Dr. Gloria G. Horning


Kris Long (NPA)
County Commission, District 2

*Member of the Institute for Women in Politics of Northwest Florida